New to Teaching

Starting out in teaching may seem a bit daunting at first, however help is at hand.

The Learning and Teaching Academy is here to support you throughout your teaching career.

‘Getting started in teaching’ workshops

The Learning and Teaching Academy will be holding two ‘Getting Started in Teaching Sessions’ at the start of semester 1. These consist of two workshops. They are designed to support anyone new to teaching and are open to any staff or postgraduate students who are teaching. More information on the sessions is on the Events page.

Getting started workshop 1

  • Monday Sept 7th 08.00-09.30 UK / 11.00-12.30 Dubai / 15.00 – 16.30 Malaysia
  • Wednesday Sept 9th 08.00-09.30 UK / 11.00-12.30 Dubai / 15.00 – 16.30 Malaysia

Getting started workshop 2

  • Tuesday Sept 8th 10.00 – 11.30 UK / 13.00 – 14.30 Dubai / 17.00 – 18.30 Malaysia
  • Thursday Sept 10th 10.00 – 11.30 UK / 13.00 – 14.30 Dubai / 17.00 – 18.30 Malaysia

In At The Deep End

This resource aims to help you cope well with those first critical elements of your work in teaching in higher education. It also provides tips and tactics that may be useful to those of you more experienced in university teaching, adding further insight and approaches to your repertoire.
Read 'In at the Deep End'

In this video Prof. Phil Race provides hints and tips for new lecturers.
These draw on the resource In at the deep end

The LTA host a New to teaching network. This is a space for people new to teaching and those new to teaching at Heriot-Watt can come together to share ideas and experiences. It provides an opportunity to develop contacts within the university and to extend your understanding of teaching at Heriot-Watt.

If you would like to join the New to teaching network email LTAcademy@hw.ac.uk