Supporting Student Learning Online

Additional Support and Resources

This page provides additional resources for Supporting Student Learning Online and details on support sessions for using the Rapid Response Toolkit.

Supporting Student Learning Online: Weekly Webinar Schedule (for Heriot-Watt staff only)

Download the support session schedule for 3rd-29th May.

There are 3 currently sessions you can attend:

  1. Starting out using Collaborate Ultra for teaching: This session provides an overview of the basic tools in Collaborate Ultra and how to use them to support learning online.
  2. Using advanced tools and techniques in Collaborate Ultra: This session provides an overview of the slightly more advanced tools in Collaborate Ultra and techniques to facilitate student engagement online.
  3. Virtual coffee break with LTA: Just an informal space to talk and share experiences over a virtual cup of coffee. No work chat required. This session is hosted on Teams.

Date Session Intended audience UK time Dubai time Malaysia time
Sundays No sessions
Monday 4th May Considering Assessment options (Dubai Foundation Programme) Dubai Foundation Programme staff only 10-11.30am BST 1-2.30pm Dubai 5-6.30pm Malaysia
Starting out using Collaborate Ultra (Pre-sessional English staff) Pre-sessional English staff only 11-12.30pm BST 2-3.30pm Dubai 6-7.30pm Malaysia
Tuesday

5th May,

12th May,

19th May,

26th May

Virtual coffee break with LTA Everyone 10-10.30am BST 1-1.30pm Dubai 5-5.30pm Malaysia
Starting out using Collaborate Ultra for teaching Open to anyone new to using Collaborate Ultra or wanting to brush up on basic skills, but particularly focused on those teaching in semester 3. 1-2pm BST 4-5pm Dubai 8-9pm Malaysia
Wednesday

6th May,

13th May,

20th May

27th May

Starting out using Collaborate Ultra

[Note: No session on 20th May]

Open to anyone new to using Collaborate Ultra or wanting to brush up on basic skills 9-10.30am BST 12-1.30pm Dubai 4-5.30pm Malaysia
Thursday

7th May,

14th May,

21st May,

28th May

Using advanced tools and techniques in Collaborate Ultra

[Note: No session on 28th May]

People with experience of teaching with Collaborate Ultra and looking to develop their skills. 8.30-10am BST 11.30-12noon Dubai 3.30-5pm Malaysia
Virtual coffee break with LTA Everyone 11.30-12noon BST 2.30-3pm Dubai 6.30-7pm Malaysia
Fridays No sessions

To join the Collaborate sessions:

  • Open the Chrome internet browser (if you use another browser you are likely to have audio issues, so only Chrome is recommended). Copy and paste this link https://eu.bbcollab.com/guest/17213fbfc226466a822a5953307d050c into the browser and click enter.
  • Read the Collaborate Ultra Webinar Guidance for Participants before joining the session
  • Join the session 15 minutes in advance of the start time so you can check your audio
  • It is useful to have looked at the SSLO toolkit before joining the session so you can ask any questions related to your own teaching.

To join the virtual coffee break sessions:

Additional Support

Staff requiring support related to a specific issue on a course can contact LTES@hw.ac.uk Through this email, support will be available from learning technologists and from ‘Teaching With Technology Champions’, staff from across the University with interests and skills in particular learning tools who have volunteered their time to support colleagues. IT-related queries should be directed through the usual IS Help contacts (ISHelp@hw.ac.uk).