Supporting Student Learning Online

Additional Support and Resources

This page provides additional resources for Supporting Student Learning Online and details on support sessions for using the Rapid Response Toolkit.

Supporting Student Learning Online: Weekly Webinar Schedule (for Heriot-Watt staff only)

Download the support session schedule for w/c 29th March or access the web version here.

There are five different sessions you can attend:

  1. Introduction to the SSLO Toolkit + Questions: This session covers the foundations of the toolkit I.e. care, kindness and compassion, and the focus on communication with each other and students. It introduces the toolkit as being a means to support the basics of communication and supporting student learning online.
  2. Q&A Drop-In Session: This session provides an opportunity to drop-in an ask questions about supporting student learning online, teaching with technology etc.
  3. Starting out using Collaborate Ultra for teaching: This session provides an overview of the basic tools in Collaborate Ultra and how to use them to support learning online.
  4. Using advanced tools and techniques in Collaborate Ultra: This session provides an overview of the slightly more advanced tools in Collaborate Ultra and techniques to facilitate student engagement online.
  5. Virtual coffee break with LTA: Just an informal space to talk and share experiences over a virtual cup of coffee. No work chat required. This session is hosted on Teams. Join the session here.

Date

Session

Intended audience

UK time

Dubai time

Malaysia time

Sun 5th April

No
Sessions

 

 

 

 

 

Monday 6th April   

Supported practice sessio
Book by emailing LTES@hw.ac.uk with a note of preferred 3 slots.

Everyone

BST slots available

  • 9am
  • 9.20am
  • 9.40am

 

Dubai slots available

  • 1pm
  • 1.20pm
  • 1.40pm

 

 

Malaysia slots available

  • 5pm
  • 5.20pm
  • 5.40pm

 

 

Monday 6th April

Q&A
Drop-In Session

Everyone

12-1pm BST

4-5pm
Dubai

8-9pm
Malaysia

Tuesday 7th April

Virtual coffee break with LTA 

Everyone

10-10.30am
GMT

2-2.30pm
Dubai

6-6.30pm
Malaysia

Tuesday 7th April

Starting
out using Collaborate Ultra for teaching

Anyone
new to using Collaborate Ultra or wanting to brush up on basic skills

1-2pm GMT

5-6pm
Dubai

9-10pm
Malaysia

Wednesday
8th April

Supported practice
Book by emailing LTES@hw.ac.uk with a note of preferred 3 slots.

Everyone 

 

BST slots available

  • 10.30am
  • 10.50am
  • 11.10am

 

Dubai slots available

  • 12.30pm
  • 12.50pmm
  • 1.10pm

 

 

Malaysia slots available

  • 4.30pm
  • 4.50pm
  • 5.10pm

 

 

Wednesday 8th April

Q&A
Drop-In Session

Everyone

12-1pm GMT

4-5pm
Dubai

8-9pm Malaysia

Thursday 9th April

No sessions

 

 

 

 

 

Friday 10th April 

University closed

 

 

 

 

Sun 12th April

University closed

 

 

 

 

 

Monday 13th April

University closed

 

 

 

 

 

Tuesday 14th April

No sessions

 

 

 

 

Wednesday 15th April

Supported practice
Book by emailing LTES@hw.ac.uk with a note of preferred 3 slots.

Everyone 

 

BST slots available

  • 9.30am
  • 9.50am
  • 10.10am

 

Dubai slots available

  • 11.30pm
  • 11.50pmm
  • 12.10pm

 

 

Malaysia slots available

  • 3.30pm
  • 3.50pm
  • 4.10pm

 

 

Wednesday 8th April

Q&A
Drop-In Session

Everyone

12-1pm BST

4-5pm
Dubai

8-9pm Malaysia

Thursday 16th April

Starting out using Collaborate Ultra for teaching

 Anyone new to using Collaborate Ultra or wanting to brush up on basic skills

 7-8.30am BST

 10-11.30am Dubai

 

 2-3.30pm Malaysia

Thursday 16th April

Supported practice session
Book by emailing LTES@hw.ac.uk with a note of preferred 3 slots.

 Everyone

BST slots available

  • 10am
  • 10.20am
  • 10.40am

 

Dubai slots available

  • 1pm
  • 1.20pm
  • 1.40pm
  •  

     

Malaysia slots available

  • 5pm
  • 5.20pm
  • 5.40pm
  •  

Thursday 16th April

Virtual coffee break

 Everyone

 11.30am-12noon BST

 2.30-3pm Dubai

 

 6.30-7pm Malaysia

Friday 17th April 

Q&A Drop-in session

 Everyone

9.30-10.30am BST

 12.30-1.30pm Dubai

 4.30-5.30pm Malaysia

(Screen reader friendly version of the timetable available here).

All sessions (except the virtual coffee break) will be hosted in the Learning and Teaching Academy Online Webinar Room.

To join the session:

  • Open the Chrome internet browser (if you use another browser you are likely to have audio issues, so only Chrome is recommended). Copy and paste this link https://eu.bbcollab.com/guest/17213fbfc226466a822a5953307d050c into the browser and click enter.
  • Read the Collaborate Ultra Webinar Guidance for Participants before joining the session
  • Join the session 15 minutes in advance of the start time so you can check your audio
  • It is useful to have looked at the SSLO toolkit before joining the session so you can ask any questions related to your own teaching.

Additional Support

Staff requiring support related to a specific issue on a course can contact LTES@hw.ac.uk Through this email, support will be available from learning technologists and from ‘Teaching With Technology Champions’, staff from across the University with interests and skills in particular learning tools who have volunteered their time to support colleagues. IT-related queries should be directed through the usual IS Help contacts (ISHelp@hw.ac.uk).