Loading Events

« All Events

This event has passed.

Reflecting on 2020: A Celebration of our Learning and Teaching Community

December 9 @ 7:00 am December 10 @ 11:00 am

It’s been a year like no other. The enormous challenges don’t need re-stated – we continue to live them day-to-day.  Amidst it all, though, many of us have benefited from the support and kindness of our colleagues and appreciated the community and enthusiasm of our students. So, as 2020 draws to a close, the LTA would like to invite you to our final symposium of the semester.  It’s a chance to share practice, make new connections, and reflect back on the enormous collaborative effort that helped us through this year.

The following events are open to all staff across our Heriot-Watt community.


Wednesday 9th December:  ‘What I really wished I had known at the start of Semester 1 …’

A chance to share practice, reflect on semester 1 and identify the Top Tips that will help prepare for Semester 2. This event will be held at the following times:

Session 1: 7am UK | 11am Dubai | 3pm Malaysia. Please register for this event here.

Session 2: 12pm UK | 4pm Dubai | 8pm Malaysia. Please register for this event here.


Thursday 10th December: ‘Exploring hidden corners of the student experience: reflections from the Enhancement Themes projects’

An opportunity to hear the findings from the diverse Enhancement Themes projects and how these are influencing learning and teaching practice at Heriot-Watt.

  • 9am UK | 1pm Dubai | 5pm Malaysia. Please register for this event here.
  • Presenters:
    • Stella Marie Colima Galimpin (LTES), Adapting to the ‘New Normal’: Developing PALS Virtual Learning  to Enhance Student Retention
    • Jose Conde and Dr Eloísa Monteoliva (SoSS), Expectations and Experiences of First Year Languages Students in their Transition from Secondary to Higher Education
    • Jing Yao (MACS) A Collaborative and Co-creative Project with Students: Improving the Learning Experiences of Chinese Students in MACS
    • Dr Rob Stewart (MACS) Closing Software-Based Assessment Feedback Loop –  Infrastructure for Formative and Peer-Based Feedback
    • Join this session via MS TEAMS


Thursday 10th December: L&T Teabreak and a Toast to Collegiality

An informal get-together to mark the end of a very busy year.

All events will be recorded and made available after the event.