Loading Events

« All Events

This event has passed.

Quality Enhancement Theme Collaborative Cluster: Decolonising the Curriculum in a Time of Pandemic

February 16, 2021 @ 10:00 am 11:30 am

10-11.30am UK | 2-3.30pm Dubai | 6-7.30pm Malaysia

Decolonising the Curriculum Collaborate Cluster Launch Event: The Gathering

‘One language is never enough […]

‘It takes more than one tongue to tell a story’

(Jackie Kay, Threshold, 2016)

Decolonisation of the curriculum is the process of analysing and interrogating how disciplines have been shaped by colonial history, and the impact of this on individuals and communities. The decolonising process seeks to challenge and dismantle the ways in which the academy operates to privilege the needs of some groups and marginalise those of others.

As part of the national Enhancement Theme, Resilient Learning Communities, we invite you to attend the launch event for our new collaborative cluster focused on Decolonising the Curriculum in a Time of Pandemic. Come together to share and learn from one another, to discuss what works and what more we can do as individuals and as a learning community to support the decolonising process.

This workshop presents a valuable opportunity to:

  • Learn about what is going on elsewhere in the sector and enhance our thinking and practices;
  • Shape a diverse, Scotland-wide, inter-institutional network exploring what decolonising the curriculum looks like in (post-)pandemic times.

With two additional workshops planned for Spring 2021, the collaborative cluster aims to discover, develop and disseminate staff and student perspectives on decolonising the curriculum, as it is happening now, in our disciplines and academic practices.

Registration for ‘The Gathering’ launch event, 10:00-11:30am on 16 February, is now open Click here to register via Eventbrite.