Loading Events

« All Events

This event has passed.

Heriot-Watt Learning and Teaching Symposium 2021

June 7, 2021 June 9, 2021

Strengthening Our Global Learning Community: Resilience in Action

Join us for a series of workshops, lectures, roundtables and tea-break conversations.

  • Connect with colleagues.
  • Share practice and experience.
  • Be inspired by creative ideas in learning & teaching.
  • Pause, take a breath and reflect on the past year.

This year our Learning and Teaching Symposium reflects on our strengths as a global learning community.

  • How have we worked together to deliver teaching through this challenging year?
  • What have we learned about supporting our students and putting wellbeing and care at the heart of our teaching?
  • What do we want to hold on to and develop further from our experience of ‘pandemic pedagogy’?

Take the opportunity to explore resilience in action and share what really makes a difference as we work together to inspire learning.


Keynote Sessions

Prof. Kay Sambell

Cafe Conversation: Assessment for Learning

Professor Kay Sambell (Cumbria University) has produced a suite of new resources especially for HWU on Assessment for Learning. She will be launching these at the Symposium through a Café Conversation event with Prof Sally Brown (Leeds Beckett) and colleagues from around HWU.

Monday 7th June 9.15am UK | 12.15pm Dubai | 4.15pm Malaysia

Register to join Kay Sambell and Sally Brown’s café conversation.


Dr Maha Bali
Dr Maha Bali

Keynote: Building Community Online with Equity and Care

Dr Maha Bali (American University in Cairo) will be leading an interactive session exploring how a pedagogy of care can be practically realised in our everyday interactions, learning activities and support for students.

Tuesday 8th June 8.30am UK | 11.30am Dubai | 3.30pm Malaysia

Register to join Maha Bali’s keynote.


Keynote: Towards a Resilient University: What have we learned from Covid?

Prof. Helen Higson

Professor Helen Higson (Aston University) will reflect on her experience leading institutional change through the pandemic, considering what makes a ‘resilient’ university, and asking us to reflect on what we wish to hold on to as we step into the recovery period.

Wednesday 9th June 9.15am UK | 12.15pm Dubai | 4.15pm Malaysia

Register to join Helen Higson’s keynote.


Full programme

In addition to our keynote sessions, we have a full programme of seminars, roundtables, lightning talks, video blogs and tea-break chats.

View or download the full 3-day programme here.

Guidance for contributors to the Symposium can be found here.


Booking and joining information

The Symposium is held on Microsoft Teams. Heriot-Watt colleagues can join the Learning and Teaching Symposium Teams site here.

Our keynotes are open to all, and can be booked via Eventbrite.